Strawberry Shortcake Birthday Cake

So this is my latest cake I made for my 3 year old daughters birthday in June. She turned 3 on June 6th. Yes, she is an 06-06-06 baby! Crazy! When she gets the devilish attitude I blame it on her birthday! So this past spring she fell in love with the Strawberry Shortcake cartoon. Remember Strawberry Shortcake from the 80’s? The purple pie man? The dolls that hair smelled like the fruit they were named after? How cool was that? Well, they are back! So my daughter chose Strawberry Shortcake for her theme – by the way I was like Yippee! This is going to be so much fun! So once the theme was picked it was time for Mom to brainstorm a cake idea? I’m creative but there was no way I could do Strawberry’s face?! So what was the next best thing? .. Her hat! Below is a picture of my cake and the steps I took to make it. Feel free to comment or ask questions!

To Make Cake:

I took one box cake mix (you can use any flavor) and put part of the cake mix in one round cake pan & the remainder in one of my small glass bowls. Once the cake cools you can ice the cake. I recommend icing the round cake first and then put the dome on top and ice it. This way when you cut the cake you have icing in the middle! Yummy!

For the ribbon I just went to my local craft store and bought the green/white pinstriped ribbon and made a bow. Use floral wire – this helps because i just stuck the ribbon right into the cake! It worked perfect! Then I just free handed strawberry on the cake. Easiest way to do this is make a heart and put some green zig zags on the top! For the band in the middle of the hat I just used a fruit roll up.

ICING: I just used your basic icing recipe- nothing special!

Please leave your comments or questions!

One thought on “Strawberry Shortcake Birthday Cake

  1. Deidrea - Hot Mama Gowns says:

    Ooooh, Strawberry Shortcake!! One of my first memories (well, birthday party memories) is of my Strawberry Shortcake cake. It was a sheet cake in the shape of her, and looking back on pics, it wasn't that great..but boy, oh boy…for me..that was THE BEST cake I had ever seen or tasted!! You jut brought back so many wonderful memories!! Stopping in from Market Mommies blog hop!!

Leave a comment