Dinner Time or Supper Time?

Do you call it dinner time or supper time?  I remember as a kid my mom and grandma calling it supper time?  Just curious if anyone still calls it supper time?  In our house today, we refer to it as dinner time.  I find it interesting how there are different names for the same things and it just depends on where in the states you grew up.  For example:  I’m from Oh about 5 min from PA border but I lived in Cincinnati and Cleveland during college and after college and everyone said I had an accent?!  Really, I only thought people from NY and the south had accents?  It is interesting to see how even in my state how people call things by different names – When I met my husband and we were living in Cleveland our first trip to the grocery store while dating I said to him – hey grab a buggy?!  He stopped and looked at me like I was speaking a foreign language? he goes a buggy?  Yeah, what do you call them?  he goes a cart? Okay, maybe a shopping cart?  Fine, grab a cart! lol   Same goes for soda and pop in our house.  I call it pop and he calls it soda- I grew up in Northeast Ohio and he grew up in West Ohio and they call it soda.   Lilly takes after her Mom and calls it pop and is slowly trying to convert her Dad to the “pop” world.   Just for the record – my daughter hates pop and will not try it – Yeah for her!  I hope she never becomes an avid pop or Diet Coke addicted like her mother!  




Well onto tonights dinner recipe – I was just going to share the recipe but when I was searching for a title it got me thinking about all the different terms we can have for something.   


Tonight, we had one of our go to dishes Beer Bread topped hamburger hot dish!  Have you ever tried the bountiful beer bread from Tastefully Simple?  If you haven’t you are missing out on some amazing bread!  It’s so easy to make you add 1 can of beer, beer bread mix and butter!  Anyway, this is a casserole dish that you use ground beef , tomato sauce, and some tastefully simple seasonings topped with beer bread!  So Yummy!  



Beer Bread Topped Hamburger Hotdish
Submitted by Kristy Horvath (MN)

Ingredients
1 lb. lean ground beef
1 cup chopped onion
1 1/2 tsp. Seasoned Salt
1 1/2 tsp. Garlic Garlic™
15 oz. can tomato sauce
1 sliced medium zucchini
Bountiful Beer Bread Mix®
1 large chopped tomato
12 oz. can beer
1 Tbsp. Dried Tomato & Garlic Pesto Mix

Directions
Saute ground beef and onion in large skillet until ground beef is no longer pink; add next 3 ingredients. Place zucchini, beef mixture and tomatoes in greased 9 x 13 casserole. Combine Bountiful Beer Bread Mix® and beer; stir to blend. Dollop batter on top of hotdish; spread evenly. Sprinkle with Dried Tomato & Garlic Pesto Mix. Bake at 350° for approximately 35 minutes or until bread is golden brown. Let stand 15 minutes before serving. Makes 8-10 servings.

Leave a Reply

