It happened on facebook ~ Mama Kat’s writers Workshop


Mama's Losin' It





This weeks prompts for Mama Kat’s writer workshop were tough topics.  Well at least for me I had a hard time picking.  Nothing really was calling my name and I was honestly torn between facebook or the socks prompt.  


So this week my prompt I choose ~  
5.) It happened on Facebook…write about a funny or awkward conversation you saw unfold on Facebook.


#4 was to write a funny story involving socks.  
  Now, I do not have a funny story involving socks other than my husbands socks NEVER seem to make it to the laundry shoot!  I’ve prayed that one day the socks would find there way to the laundry shoot with out me walking around the house bent over day after day picking up socks!  I HATE picking up socks!  Is it really that hard to throw them down the laundry shoot?  Oh and we have a laundry shoot on both floors – so there is no excuse.   I have my 4 year old trained to say to him when she finds them “Daddy these belong in the laundry shoot”  haha. .. So that is my brief story about socks.  Totally a vent and not a funny story.  Now, if I told you I cut the toes out of all his socks and didn’t tell him now that would be funny! 😉

So on to my prompt for the week – which I’m day late posting! Sorry, yesterday we needed a break and we took off for the pool!   

Ahh, facebook what should I say about facebook!  Personally, I love facebook but you have to have some common sense about what you are going to post on your wall or your status update.  Now, for me I’ve been out of HS for  20 years.  I joined facebook about 2 years ago and at first it was CRAZY.  I was getting “friend requests” daily from people from HS that 1)  I never was friends with in school  2)  I haven’t spoken to in almost 20 years  3) then there were those friends that you just honestly lost touch with over the years but were so happy to reconnect.   Yes, I have a combination of all 3 of those on my friends list.  I have thought about “defriending” a few but then I don’t want to be that person at my 20 year reunion being tagged as the facebook defriender (if that is even a word?).  Luckily, facebook stepped up and now lets you hide certain status updates from people and you can restrict settings from friends only being able to see certain information about you.   Which this feature definitely comes in handy especially if you choose to have co-workers on your friends list.

With my wide mix of friends on my list some days my homepage can be come quite amusing and embarrassing at times.  I honestly, don’t care about people posting about there divorce, boyfriends cheating, there love life, and ex husbands or wives for that matter.  I have seen over the past 1-1/2 that I’ve been active on facebook some crazy stuff.  I might see status updates about girls being dumped and how life is over, blah blah.  Seriously, we are in our mid 30’s and is facebook that place you really want to be posting all of your drama?  It was bad and then I’m not kidding it was less than 2 weeks later and there’s a new guy! Come on people!  Then some large drama with the new guy unfolds and then months later she’s back with the other guy?  Then, I saw this crazy post from my little sisters friend about her Dad cheating on her mom and calling the girl out on facebook and then the Mom jumped in and started trashing the girl.  And they called her trash?  People have to realize that what ever you put other there is out there and in a quick second has reached your entire friends list!   A lot of my facebook activity is keeping in touch with old friends and family that do not live in town so I love facebook!  Now, would I post about my relationship with my husband or any troubles that might be facing me?  Absolutely not!  I feel bad for these people that think they should air your dirty laundry on it!   Both of these conversations were awkward to witness and I really felt bad for them. 


What I really feel bad for is my daughters generation.   I can’t even imagine being in school with facebook, text messaging, email, or digital cameras.   It was bad enough how rumors got started with out all of this technology and now we have all of this instant communication that can be put out seconds to a mass list.   <- this could be another topic and post all in itself!  




Now it’s your turn!  What funny or awkward moments have you seen take place on facebook?





The Prompts:
1.) Choose a headline from The Today Show website and write up an opinion post based on the story you chose.
2.) Write a poem about the last thing that made you mad.
3.) Write about a joke that did not go over well.
4.) Write a funny story involving socks.
5.) It happened on Facebook…write about a funny or awkward conversation you saw unfold on Facebook.

2 thoughts on “It happened on facebook ~ Mama Kat’s writers Workshop

  1. Liz says:

    I think of my FB friends in those same 3 categories! Some people who I've gotten friend requests from cause me to scratch my head! I luckily haven't seen a lot of that trash talking, but have heard about it a lot from others. I'm just still so surprised that people don't think about putting something up on their statuses that could later come back to haunt them.

Leave a Reply

